Facts/News about the Euro can be posted here

Moderators: Fons, Phaseolus

kunalmoondra
Euro-Newbie
Euro-Newbie

strange situation for euro in poland

Post by kunalmoondra » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:59 pm

Hello all,

I am a student in Poland, and i use a prepaid EURO travel card. I have my fees deposited in the same card, the problem now is that the rates for EURO-ZLOTY(polish currency) has gone really low, i mean i get really less zloty for 1 euro. And i can only go to bankomats(ATM) which obviously gives worst rates.

i read about the EURO dispensing ATM at warsaw AIRPORT in this forum, found it motivating, but again dont know if the bank would first convert to ZLOTY and then back to EURO, if so then it doesnt make any sense for me.

I have EURO in my account. so the card i hope would be considered the same by an ATM as any euro zone card having euros in it.

Please help. I am really losing like 1500 zloty if i withdraw right now to pay my fees. And for a student its a big amount.

Any other way around? thinking of travelling to berlin just to get cash out. And then exchanging it with a local Money exchange here in warsaw. But i personally want a way out of it , not by travelling to berlin ofcourse.

Kindly help.

Regards

kunal_moondra@hotmail.com :(

Licht & Feuer
Euro-Master
Euro-Master
Location: Im Osten des Westens der auch als Süden des Nordens betrachtet wird

Re: strange situation for euro in poland

Post by Licht & Feuer » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:06 pm

Don't know if I understand your situation right but maybe you could open an account in Germany at an international bank, that does business in Poland, too and place your Euro there.